How About That.

May 14, 2011. Everything went so well, that I had to think – hard – to come up with a few minor things that didn’t go smoothly. So many people so integral to Mike’s and my life dropped everything to hop on a plane and come and celebrate with us. And those who couldn’t were there in spirit.

The days leading up to the wedding were packed with tying up loose ends. But it was a labor of love, and many people pitched in. In the evenings, we relaxed with whomever was around and marveled at what a joy it was to all be in one place. Mike’s parents put together an out-of-this-world rehearsal dinner. And the day of the wedding was reasonably stress-free, thanks to the help of friends and family who happily pitched in with all manner of setup and preparations.

The ceremony went off without a hitch. It was everything I could have dreamed of! Rich, bold organ music and pews full of smiling faces from every corner of our lives. A traditional and very Episcopal service, complete with hymns galore and communion distributed by yours truly. Thoughtfully selected readings and prayers offered up by family members, and a deeply resonant sermon that weaved its way from music to mysticism to experiencing joy in both flesh and spirit.

As if all that wasn’t enough, the reception was pretty much the best party we could ever hope to throw. Every single vendor did a superb job, from catering and bartenders to our florist and DJ. And yes, I coordinated it all, but the whole was greater than the sum of its parts. You can plan a wedding, but you can’t plan this.

I can’t wait to get the rest of our photos from our photographer, Nick Abadilla. He did an outstanding job and was extremely easy to work with. I know there were lots of small moments I missed but that he captured. Try as I might, one can only be so present.

Stay tuned for a post about our fantastic three-part honeymoon and our upcoming trip to Bangalore, India for the summer.

Did I mention that I love life? Because I do. And I am ridiculously blessed.

