Keeping busy

But that’s not to suggest I don’t stop to have fun every now and then. Allow me to present: Battlestar Galactica Pumpkin!

Mike visited me a couple weeks ago, too, and a good friend from high school, Heidi, visited last weekend. As wonderful as visitors are, I was elated to have absolutely nothing that I had to do today! So I slept till noon and caught up on boring things like vacuuming, dishes, and laundry. Then I went and bought a pumpkin, and carved it. In an hour or so, I’ll don an outfit that appropriately coordinates with my pumpkin and head over to a party at a fellow grad student’s place.

What else have I been up to? In a nutshell – learning stuff about astronomy. It’s awesome. And complex, and annoying, and beautiful, and elusive. I have been generally performing at or above average on homework assignments and exams, which is in welcome and refreshing contrast to Harvey Mudd. I also feel like the work here is legitimately difficult, but that I have finally seen enough material in enough different contexts to just begin to grasp how astrophysical phenomena truly work.

So that’s cool. But boy do I miss Mike. And goodness can the minor, trivial bits of life that get pushed aside when one spends 12+ hours at school each day add up quickly. One thing we don’t get at NMSU is a fall break, and this past week I reached the breaking point of needing one. I lapsed into being late for, well, everything, and just sitting mindlessly at my computer when I had a few minutes between obligations rather than doing grading or homework. The week-long Thanksgiving break (in which I see Mike!) cannot come soon enough.

Minor grievances aside, though, living here rocks. I maintain the trifecta of things I miss – Mike, the cathedral, a semi-professional orchestra to play in – but I mean it when I say everything else is awesome. I even found a decent Thai restaurant, though it’s a bit of a drive away.

I suppose part of my exhaustion stems from knowing folks who are going through a lot. I learned recently that an acquaintance from college died. And a good friend of mine is going through a divorce. My “trifecta of things I miss” is pretty weak in comparison, and it’s good to remember that life can throw one hell of a curveball when you least expect it. All the more reason to live it up, and to be the best person you can be.

One thought on “Keeping busy

  1. hey girl,
    Glad you’re hanging in there. Sorry about the bad news :( Life can be a real pain.

    When in the world am I getting a wedding invite?! I want to put it on my very decoration-free fridge :)

Comments are closed.