Busi-ness

There’s no doubt about it – I am busy this semester.

But that’s not to say I’m too busy, or I’m busy in a bad way (well, aside from the timesuck that is grading).  I just need to find some time to do thesis research…

And now, I present An Optimistic List Of Side Effects That Have Sprung Up From Not Having A Car For Some Two Weeks:

  • Better for the environment
  • More exercise and more time outside
  • Good way to catch up with friends (while bumming a ride)
  • Gives an excuse to take somebody out to lunch
  • Realization that it is possible to live without a car
  • Not spending money on gas
  • Empathy for others who rely solely on public transit to get around
  • Little to no time spent stuck in traffic or experiencing road rage
  • Renewed appreciation for businesses within walking distance

That’s all I’ve got.  Oh, and this, in reflection on a psalm by Ann Fontaine over at Episcopal Cafe:

“Life is what I am given in this time and this space and asking God to save it seems more a prayer to live it fully in this moment, not obsessing about the past or anxious about the future. When I can be in this place, I feel aligned with some greater life, in tune with the dance of the universe whether rejoicing or sorrowing, singing or lamenting. I can’t hang onto it by myself – it takes something that encompasses all of us and fills the spaces between us.”

Good to remember the bigger picture whilst caught up in the day-to-day.

